Connect with us


Tinubu leads Obi, Atiku as INEC declares 20 states in presidential election



Tinubu leads Obi, Atiku

The 2019 general elections are over, and the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has announced results in 20 states so far.

According to the results, Bola Tinubu, the presidential candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), is leading with 5,862,453 votes. The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) presidential candidate, Atiku Abubakar, has secured 4,288,434 votes so far. Meanwhile, the presidential candidate of the Labour Party (LP), Peter Obi, is currently in third place with 2,834,932 votes, and Rabiu Kwankwaso of the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP) polled 1,315,549.

Notably, Tinubu failed to win his home state, Lagos, losing to Obi. On the other hand, Atiku won in President Muhammadu Buhari’s state, Katsina. The results from the other states and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) are expected to be presented today from 11 am.

However, the opposition, led by the PDP, has called for the suspension of the announcement of results, citing irregularities such as over-voting, the refusal of officials to upload results on the INEC website, among others. PDP’s Dino Melaye and Emeka Ihedioha walked out of the national collation centre, the International Conference Centre (ICC), in Abuja, in protest against the alleged irregularities.

Out of the 176,846 polling units in 774 local government areas, submitted results are from 79,673 units. It is important to note that these are unofficial results as INEC is yet to declare the winner of the presidential election.

The elections were marred by violence and logistical challenges in some parts of the country. Nevertheless, Nigerians showed great enthusiasm and determination for a change of story. Record-breaking turnout crowds, with multitudes of first-time voters, were reported.

While we wait for the official announcement of the presidential election results, it is important to urge every Nigerian to accept the outcome of the elections in good faith and maintain peace and unity in our country.

Here’s a breakdown of the official results that were presented by INEC for 20 states in the 2019 Nigerian presidential election, as reported by


Tinubu: 263,572
Peter Obi: 31,116
Atiku: 136,909

Tinubu: 343,945
Peter Obi: 23,283
Atiku: 354,366

Tinubu: 369,924
Peter Obi: 47,350
Atiku: 115,463

Tinubu: 341,554
Peter Obi: 85,829
Atiku: 123,831

Tinubu: 449,884
Peter Obi: 99,110
Atiku: 182,977

Tinubu: 4,772
Peter Obi: 428,640
Atiku: 15,749

Tinubu: 146,977
Peter Obi: 26,160
Atiku: 319,123

Tinubu: 421,390
Peter Obi: 1,889
Atiku: 386,587

Tinubu: 182,881
Peter Obi: 105,648
Atiku: 417,611

Tinubu: 482,283
Peter Obi: 6,376
Atiku: 489,045

Tinubu: 172,922
Peter Obi: 191,361
Atiku: 147,093

Tinubu: 307,195
Peter Obi: 466,272
Atiku: 243,808

Tinubu: 316,694
Peter Obi: 24,910
Atiku: 426,607

Tinubu: 517,341
Peter Obi: 28,513
Atiku: 131,716
Kwankwaso: 997,279

Tinubu: 201,494
Peter Obi: 11,397
Atiku: 89,554

Tinubu: 310,469
Peter Obi: 208,372
Atiku: 130,081

Tinubu: 572,606
Peter Obi: 582,454
Atiku: 75,750

Tinubu: 151,459
Peter Obi: 2,406
Atiku: 198,567

Tinubu: 144,471
Peter Obi: 331,163
Atiku: 89,585
Akwa Ibom:

Tinubu: 160,620
Peter Obi: 132,683
Atiku: 214,012

Nigeria’s top youth newspaper - actively working to deliver credible news, entertainment, and empowerment to 50 million young Africans daily.