Connect with us


Reactions plague AMVCA 2024 over ‘Controversial’ decision



Reactions plagues AMVCA 2024 over 'Controversial' decision

The 10th edition of the Africa Magic Viewers’ Choice Awards (AMVCA) held at the prestigious Eko Hotel and Suites in Lagos over the weekend continues to stir conversations and reactions in its aftermath, with particular focus on the surprising snub of Funke Akindele’s record-breaking film, ‘A Tribe Called Judah.’

While ‘Breath Of Life’ emerged as the night’s biggest winner, securing six awards including Best Movie, Best Sound Design, and Best Director for BB Sasore, the absence of accolades for ‘A Tribe Called Judah’ despite its landmark achievement of being the first Nigerian movie to gross over N1 billion in cinema last December has sparked widespread debate and social media uproar.

The perceived oversight of Nigeria’s highest-grossing film has ignited a flurry of reactions across various social media platforms. Users expressed sentiments ranging from disappointment to staunch support for Akindele and her movie.

Funke Akindele's a tribe called judah hits 1.4 billion naira in earnings

Comments such as “@abazwhylllz: ‘A Tribe Called Judah’ is my own movie of the year. Keep your head high Funke Akindele,” and “@EObaniyi: Award or not, Funke Akindele is the best in the game,” reflect the solidarity of fans towards the acclaimed actress and her work.

However, others weighed in on the perceived merits of ‘Breath Of Life’ and the fairness of the awards, with one user noting, “@Lil_maamiii: I don’t want to hear anything like Funke Akindele was robbed oo, when she bagged all the awards with ‘Omo Ghetto: The Saga’, nobody remembered robbery oo, so please let ‘Breath Of Life’ breathe.”

As discussions continue to swirl online, the event’s full list of winners highlights the diverse array of talent recognized across various categories. Notable victors include Wale Ojo for Best Lead Actor in ‘Breath Of Life,’ Genoveva Umeh for Best Supporting Actress, and BB Sasore for Best Director.

Here is the full list of winners:

Best Digital Content

Hello Neighbour – Elozonam Ogbolu, Lina idoko and Jemima Osunde

National Treasure – Adebola Adeyela (Lizzy Jay)

Medical Negligence and Copyright Infringement – Isaac Ayomide Olayiwola (Layi Wasabi) WINNER

The Boyfriend – Maryam Apaokagi-Greene

Best Supporting Actor

Timini Egbuson (A Tribe Called Judah)

Levi Chikere (Blood Vessel)

Ropo Ewenla (Over the Bridge)

Alexx Ekubo (Afamefuna)

Demola Adedoyin (Breath of Life) WINNER

Ibrahim Yekini (Jagun Jagun: The Warrior)

Gregory Ojefua (This is Life)

Best Supporting Actress

Bimbo Akintola (The Black Book)

Genoveva Umeh (Breath of Life) WINNER

Eliane Umuhire (Omen)

Tana Adelana (Ijogbon – Chaos)

Ejiro Onojaife (The Origin: Madam Koi Koi)

Joke Silva (Over the Bridge)

Fathia Williams (Jagun Jagun – The Warrior)

Best Lead Actor

Richard Mofe Damijo (The Black Book)

Adedimeji Lateef (Jagun Jagun – The Warrior)

Wale Ojo (Breath of Life) WINNER

Marc Zinga (Omen)

Gideon Okeke (Egun)

David Ezekiel (Blood Vessel)

Stan Nze (Afamefuna)

Best Lead Actress

Omowunmi Dada (Asiri Ade)

Ireti Doyle (The Origin: Madam Koi Koi)

Kehinde Bankole (Adire) WINNER

Funke Akindele (A Tribe Called Judah)

Segilola Ogidan (Over The Bridge)

Lucie Debay (Omen)

Adaobi Dibor (Blood Vessel)

Evelyne Ily (Mami Wata)

Best Director

C. J. Fiery Obasi ( Mami Wata)

Kayode Kasum (Afamefuna)

Tolu Ajayi (Over The Bridge)

Moses Inwang (Blood Vessel)

BB Sasore (Breath of Life) WINNER

Johnscott Enah (Half Heaven)

Adebayo Tijani & Tope Adebayo (Jagun Jagun)

Best Indigenous Language Film (West Africa)

Nana Akoto (Kwabena Gyansah)

Orisa (Odunlade Adekola)

Jagun Jagun (Femi Adebayo) WINNER

Ijogbon (Kunle Afolayan)

Mami Wata (CJ Fiery Obasi)

Best Movie

A Tribe Called Judah

The Black Book

Mami Wata

Funmilayo Ransome-Kuti

Breath of Life WINNER

Over The Bridge

Blood Vessel

Best Indigenous Language Movie (East Africa)



Where The River Divides

Ormoilaa Ogol (The Strong One) WINNER


Best Scripted M-Net Original

Magic Room


The Passenger

Slum King WINNER

Half Open Window

Best Unscripted M-Net Original

The Irabors’ Forever After

Nwuyee Bekee (Foreign Wives) WINNER

Royal Qlique (Season 2)

Date My Family Zambia

What Will People Say

Best Indigenous M-Net Original

Love Transfusion (Kiapo Cha Damu)

Nana Akoto


Irora Iya WINNER

The Passenger

Best Costume Design

Fumilayo Ransome – Kuti (Bolanle Austen- Peters, Ituen Basi, Folake Coker, Clement Effanga)

Jagun Jagun (Lola Awe) WINNER

Over The Bridge – Demola Adeyemi

Breathe of Life (Daniel Obasi)

Mami Wata (Bunmi Demilola Fashina)

Best Sound Design

Daniel Pellerin and Amin Bhatia (Kipkemboi)

Grey Jones Ossai (Blood Vessel) WINNER

Samy Bardet (Mami Wata)

Ava Momoh (Over the Bridge)

Grey Jones Ossai (Breathe of Life)

Best Art Direction

Jagun Jagun: The Warrior (Tunji Afolayan)

Over The Bridge (Abisola Omolade) WINNER

Breath of Life (Okechukwu Frost Nwankwo, Kelechi Odu)

The Black Book (Pat Nebo and Chima Temple)

Blood Vessel (Victor Akpan)

Mami Wata (C.J Fiery Obasi)

Best Makeup

A Tribe Called Judah (Feyisayo Oyebisi)

Mojisola (Hadizat Gambo)

Jagun Jagun (Hakeem Onilogbo)

Over The Bridge (Francesca Otaigbe)

Mami Wata (Campbell Precious Arebamen) WINNER

Best Editing

Nathan Delannoy

Chuka Ejorh And Onyekachi Banjo

Holmes Awa

Antonio Ribeiro (The Black Book) WINNER

Alex Kamau And Victor Obok

Dayo Nathaniel

Best Writing Movie

Fumilayo Ransome Kuti – Tunde Babalola WINNER

Jagun Jagun – Adebayo Tijani

Afamefuna – Anyanwu Sandra Adaora

Breathe Of Life – BB Sasore

Over The Bridge – Tosin Otudeko

ATCJ – Funke Ayotunde Akindele, Collins Okoh & Akinlabi Ishola

Mami Wata – CJ Obasi

Best Documentary

Empalikino (Forgiveness)

The Water Manifesto: Osun (Water For Gold)

Sowing Hope

Lobola – A Bride’s True Price? WINNER

Ormoilaa Ogol (The Strong One)

Best Multichoice Talent Factory Movie

Full Time Husband


The 11th Commandment


Her Dark Past WINNER

Somewhere in Kole