Connect with us


Tinubu swears in 17-new Commissioners



Tinubu swears in 17-new Commissioners

President Bola Tinubu has officially sworn in 17 Commissioners of the National Population Commission (NPC) during a ceremony held at the council chamber of the State House in Abuja, the nation’s capital. The inauguration took place prior to the commencement of the Federal Executive Council (FEC) meeting.

The newly inaugurated commissioners consist of a blend of re-appointed members and new faces. Nine commissioners were re-appointed for a second term, while eight are newly appointed to join the NPC.

Among the new appointees are Emmanuel Eke (Abia), Chidi Ezeoke (Anambra), Alex Ukam (Cross River), Blessyn Brume-Maguha (Delta), and Jeremiah Nwankwegu (Ebonyi). Others include Sa’adatu Garba (Kaduna), Aminu Tsanyawa (Kano), Yori Afolabi (Kogi), Mary Afan (Plateau), and Ogiri Henry (Rivers).

Returning commissioners include Isa Buratai (Borno), Tony Alyejina (Edo), Clifford Zirra (Adamawa), Ejike Ezeh (Enugu), Abubakar Damburam (Gombe), Uba Nnabue (Imo), and Sani Sale (Taraba).

Several high-ranking federal government officials were present at the ceremony, including Vice President Kashim Shettima, Chief of Staff to the President, Femi Gbajabiamila, Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), George Akume, and Head of the Civil Service of the Federation, Folashade Yemi-Esan, along with various ministers.

President Tinubu had initially submitted 19 nominees to the Senate for screening and confirmation as NPC commissioners. However, only 17 of the nominees appeared and underwent the screening process, subsequently receiving confirmation.

The NPC serves as Nigeria’s principal data collection agency, tasked with gathering, analyzing, and publishing demographic and economic data about the Nigerian population. Additionally, the commission is responsible for conducting demographic surveys, compiling migration and civil registration statistics, and monitoring the country’s population policy.