Home NEWS President Buhari Swears In New Minimum Wage Committee

President Buhari Swears In New Minimum Wage Committee

President Muhammadu Buhari says that contrary to fears in some quarters, his administration is committed to a review of the National minimum wage.

The President who said this before inaugurating the technical advisory committee on the implementation of an increase in the national minimum wage on Wednesday at the Aso Rock Villa, noted that the last time workers salary was reviewed was in 2011.

President Buhari explained that with the steady increase in the prices of goods and services, it has become imperative for Nigerian workers to enjoy an increase in salary.

To this end, the federal government has made adequate provision in the 2018 budget appropriation to the national assembly for a new minimum wage.

He explained that government at the centre have been meeting with state governments on the issue of minimum wage.

While noting that the trapatite committee set up in November 2017 to consider a national minimum wage and make reccomendation to government was done in good faith, noted that there will be a salary review for those who are already earning above the new minimum wage.

The 24-man committee has Bismarck Rewane as chairman while Ben Akabueze will serve as secretary.

Members of the committee are drawn from the public and private sector.

Members of the Technical committee on the Implementation of an increase in the national minimum wage are:

  • Mr. Bismarck Rewane. – Chairman
  • Malam Suleiman Barau. – member
  • Dr. Ayo Teriba. – member
  • Prof. Akpan Ekpo. – member
  • Mrs. Ifuejo Omoigui-Okauru. – member
  • Representative of the governors forum
  • High Chief Richard Egbule. Member
  • Olusegun Adekunke. Member
  • Dr. Mahmoud Isa-Dutse. – member
  • Mr. Olajide Odewale. – member
  • Mrs. Ibukun Odusote. – member
  • Mr. Dayo Apata. – member
  • Dr. Adeyemi Dipeolu. – member
  • Mrs. Aisha Hamad. – member
  • Ahmed Idris. – member
    Dr. Babatunde Fowler. – member
  • Ms. Patience Oniha. – member
  • Dr. Folarin Gbadebo-Smith. – member
  • Dr. Yemi Kale. – member
  • Mamman Garbs – member
  • Tunde Lawal. – member
  • Dr. Joseph Nnanna. – member
  • Mr. Ben Akabueze. – Secretary.

The 24-man committee is drawn from the public and private sector.

The Terms of Reference of the Technical Advisory Committee on the Implementation of an increase in the national minimum wage are:

a.   To develop, and advise government on how to successfully bring about a smooon h implementation of impending wage increases;

b.  Identify new revenue sources, as well as areas of existing expenditure from where some savings could be made in order to fund the wage increases without adversely impacting the nation’s development goals as set out in the Economic Recovery and Growth Plan;

c.   Propose a work plan and modalities for the implementation of the salary increases;

d.  Any other suggestions that will assist in the implementation of this, and future wage increases.

e.  Given the urgency of this exercise, the Committee is expected to complete its deliberations and submit its report and recommendations within one month today.

Subscribe to TN Daily!

Follow @theshoesplace on Instagram to enjoy amazing shoe deals!

Follow us on Instagram | Advertise With Us | Send Us News Tips | Promote Your Music


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.