Connect with us


Luka Modric Announced As 2018 Ballon D’Or Winner



Luka Modric

Highly respected Spanish newspaper, Marca reports that Real Madrid and Croatia midfielder Luka Modric has been crowned the 2018 Ballon d’Or winner, and this will initiate the 10-year duopoly end of Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo’s winning streak

The last player to win the prize apart from Messi and Ronaldo, was Kaka in December 2007.

With five Ballon d’Ors each, their domination began in 2008 with the Portuguese attacker winning as a Manchester United player.

Ronaldo however will not be at Monday evening’s gala, as he has already been informed he is not the winner.

It will crown a big year for Modric, who has already won UEFA Best Player in Europe.

Modric at the Ballon D’Or tonight

The midfielder led his country to the final of the 2018 World Cup in Russia and has won the last three Champions League titles with Madrid.

READ  Cristiano Ronaldo Wins Ballon D'Or Award for the 5th time; Equals Messi's record

Modric had a total of 753 points with Cristiano Ronaldo clinching the second place with 476 points. Antoine Griezzman coming in third with 414 points.

Mbappe landing on the fourth place with 347 points and a very disappointing fifth placement by Lionel Messi with 280 points.

Liverpool’s very own Mohammed Salah takes sixth place with 188 points. Varane at seventh with 121 points. Eden Hazard next up at eighth with a close 119 points. Kevin De Bruyne taking nineth place with 29 points and lastly Tottenham Hotspur’s Harry Kane at tenth with 25 points.

Congratulations to Modric!

Pass WAEC, NECO, JAMB like a boss - Practise for FREE on ExamblyApp!

Join Us On Telegram | Promote Your Music


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *