Connect with us


Governor Sanwo-Olu swears in 57 council chairmen



Governor Sanwo-Olu swears in 57 council chairmen



Lagos State Governor, Babajide Sanwo-Olu, on Tuesday, has sworn in 57 council chairmen; 20 Local Government Areas (LGAs) and 37 Local Council Development Areas (LCDAs) in the state.

The chairmen and their vice-chairmen took the oath at a ceremony which took place at the State House, Alausa, Ikeja.

Sanwo-Olu appealed to the LGAs and LCDAs to defend their autonomy by initiating people-oriented policies and programmes, which must focus on enhancing the lives and source of income of citizens at the grassroots.

The Governor added that the administrative and financial autonomy being enjoyed by LGAs and LCDAs for almost two decades is to accomplish a bottom-up development model for the acceleration of organised growth all over the state.

This was disclosed in a statement signed by his Chief Press Secretary, Gboyega Akosile, days after the All Progressives Congress swept all chairmanship seats across the 57 local councils.

Akosile cited Sanwo-Olu as saying, “Today, we are witnessing the dawn of a new era in local government administration in Lagos State. A resounding statement has been made, once again, that Lagos is APC, and that the people of Lagos continue to regard our party as the most viable and most credible political choice for the most populous State and biggest subnational economy in the country.

“We consider this overwhelming support as a vote of confidence in our administration and our great party, and it will never be taken for granted.

“I congratulate the newly elected chairmen and vice-chairmen across all the LGAs and LCDAs. Your victory is an affirmation of trust in your competence, capacity and capability to discharge the responsibility of the Office you are stepping into.

“Being the closest tier of Government to the people, any gap or shortcoming in administration will be keenly felt by the people. As a result, your policies and programmes must be people-oriented, focusing on how to improve the lives and livelihood of the people at the grassroots.”

The Governor also commended members of the APC Local Government Election Committee, chaired by the Deputy Governor, Dr Obafemi Hamzat, and the party executive members, chaired by state Chairman, Hon. Tunde Balogun, for delivering on the mandate delegated to them.

Lauding the Lagos State Independent Electoral Commission (LASIEC), chaired by Justice Ayotunde Philips (Rtd), Sanwo-Olu said the judge had kept on living to its duties and responsibilities as preserved in the law instituting it.

The Governor said, “My commendation also goes to all our people, the civic-minded people of Lagos State, who conducted themselves peacefully and responsibly, before, during and after the elections. I want to particularly thank you all for keeping faith with our great party.”


👉Full Access to Complete Primary & Secondary Education Online👈