Connect with us


Governor Ortom fires 8 commissioners



BREAKING: Governor Ortom escapes death in Benue 4

Benue State Governor Samuel Ortom has terminated the appointments of eight commissioners serving in his cabinet with immediate effect, Top Naija reports.


This was disclosed in a statement issued by the Secretary to the State Government, Prof. Anthony Ijohor. The statement added that eight other commissioners were, however, retained.


According to the statement, those retained included the Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice, Mr. Micheal Gusa; Commissioner of Health and Human Services, Dr. Joseph Ngbea; Commissioner of Finance, David Olofu, and Commissioner for Lands, Survey and Solid Mineral, Bernard Unenge.


Others were Commissioner of Housing and Urban Development and Supervising Commissioner for the Ministry of Information, Culture and Tourism, Chief Ekpe Ogbu; Commissioner of Energy, Science and Technology Overseeing Ministry of Education, Dr. Godwin Oyiwona.


Also on the list of retained commissioners were the Commissioner of Women Affairs and Social Development overseeing, Ministry of Youth and Sports Development, Mrs Nylazungwe Igirgi, and Commissioner of Rural Development overseeing Ministry of Water Resources, Engr. Victor Ukaha.


The outgone commissioners were advised to hand over to Permanent Secretaries in their respective Ministries.


“The Governor expresses his profound appreciation to the outgoing commissioners for their service to the State and wish them well in their future endeavours,” part of the statement read.

Nigeria’s top youth newspaper - actively working to deliver credible news, entertainment, and empowerment to 50 million young Africans daily.