Connect with us


FG might lockdown 20 local governments with highest COVID-19 cases



FG might lockdown 20 local governments with highest COVID-19 cases

Federal Government is considering a lockdown of the 18 Local Government Areas which reportedly account for 60 per cent of confirmed COVID-19 cases in Nigeria in the next phase of eased lockdown in the country.

The Chairman of the Presidential Task Force on COVID-19, Boss Mustapha, gave the indication in an interview State House correspondents after leading some members of the task force to brief the President Muhammadu Buhari at the Presidential Villa, Abuja on Monday.

Mustapha, who is the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, said affected state governments would implement what he called “precision lockdown.”


While noting that the nation has not reached its peak as far as confirmed cases were concerned, he urged all stakeholders to ensure compliance with all non-pharmaceutical interventions.

He also gave an insight into the reason behind the low fatality rate in Nigeria, saying 80% of the infections are in the age bracket of 31 to 40 years, which he described as a very active part of the population.

According to data earlier released by the Nigeria Centre for Disease Control, 11 out of the 20 local government areas that account for 60 per cent of the cases are in Lagos State.

The report listed the councils to include that Lagos Mainland Local Government Area, Abuja Municipal Area Council, Mushin Local Government Area,  Eti-Osa Local Government Area in Lagos and Tarauni Local Government Area in Kano State.

Data obtained from the Nigeria Centre for Disease Control as of June 2 Local Government Areas in Lagos and Abuja have recorded most COVID-19 cases in Nigeria.

Here is the list of the 20 Local Governments, according to the NCDC’s Situation Report 91 for June 2:

1 – Lagos – Lagos Mainland LG
2 – Abuja – Abuja Municipal
3 – Lagos – Mushin
4 – Lagos – Eti-Osa
5 – Kano – Tarauni
6 – katsina – Katsina
7 – Lagos – Alimosho
8 – Borno – Maiduguri
9 – Lagos – Kosofe
10 – Jigawa – Dutse
11 – Lagos – Ikeja
12 – Kano – Nassarawa
13 – Lagos – Oshodi/Isolo
14 – Lagos – Apapa
15 – Lagos – Amuwo Odofin
16 – Edo – Oredo
17 – Bauchi – Bauchi
18 – Lagos – Lagos Island
19 – Lagos – Surulere
20 – Ogun – Ado Odo/Ota

Enjoy unlimited access > DOWNLOAD TopNaija App free on Play Store now!

Follow us on Instagram | Advertise With Us | Promote Your Music

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *