Connect with us


European Union’s Digital Vaccine Passport



european union


Seven European Union countries rolled out the digital vaccine passport 3 days ago. This is ahead of a full launch for all 27 member states on July 1. These countries are: Bulgaria, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Germany, Greece, and Poland. It is called a digital green certificate

It will be used to show if someone has been fully vaccinated against covid-19, recovered from the virus, or tested negative within the last 72 hours. Travelers who can prove they fit one of these three criteria are not required to be tested. Neither are they required to go into quarantine. 

A QR code, which can be either stored on a cell phone or printed out on paper is used for the verification. The data is not retained anywhere afterwards for security and privacy reasons.

The development sounds nice, but early adopters of similar systems are abandoning it. Israel and the United States are some of the countries that started similar programs called Green Pass and Excelsior pass respectively. They have been abandoned since the increase in vaccination.


💃Pass WAEC, JAMB, POST-UTME & more in One Sitting for FREE!💯

GET FREE Love, Sex, Marriage, Relationship and Dating Tips Now