Connect with us


Embattled UNILAG VC leads varsity workers’ protest [PHOTOS]



On Thursday, embattled Professor Oluwatoyin Ogundipe, Vice Chancellor of the University of Lagos, led a protest against his removal by the governing council of the school.


The sacking of the vice chancellor was announced during the meeting of the Governing Council of UNILAG at the National Universities Commission in Abuja on Wednesday. The meeting was chaired by the UNILAG Pro-Chancellor and Chairman of its Governing Council, Dr Wale Babalakin.

The Thursday protest was held by four unions of the university – the Academic Staff Union of Universities, Senior Staff Association of Nigerian Universities, National Association of Academic Technologists, and Non-Academic Staff Union.

Ogundipe walked with the union members from the Senate building to the school’s gate.

Ogundipe, who later addressed the union members, said, “I remain dedicated to UNILAG. We are all builders and have all invested so much to this great university. I have been here for 30 years in different capacities. Let’s wait for the directives from the government. I remain a functional member of the union; we are enjoying peace here, let’s remain peaceful,” he said.

The unions also called on the Ministry of Education and the Executive Secretary of the National Universities Commission to intervene in the crisis.

A statement jointly signed by the unions reads partly, “Our unions are using this medium to call on the Minister of Education and the Executive Secretary of the National Universities Commission to stop this charade and lawlessness being perpetrated by the Dr Wale Babalakin-led University of Lagos Council given its potentials for causing disharmony and industrial instability in the University of Lagos.”

ASUU-UNILAG Chairman, Dr Dele Ashiru, also said, “We condemn in its totality the purported removal of our Vice Chancellor, Prof. Oluwatoyin Ogundipe. We affirm our absolute confidence in the leadership of Prof. Toyin Ogundipe as the Vice Chancellor of UNILAG.”

The NAAT Chairman, Mr Sulyman Lawal; NASU Chairman, Mr Ajibade Kehinde and SSANU Chairman, Mr Olusola Sowunmi, also voiced their disapproval of the removal of the VC.”

Download TopNaija App free | Join Us On Telegram | Promote Your Music

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *