Connect with us


Deputy Governor, SSG, Chief of Staff, 11 commissioners resign in Sokoto



Deputy Governor of Sokoto State, Alhaji Manir Dan’iya, has submitted his resignation letter to Governor Aminu Tambuwal on Wednesday, April 27.


He reportedly resigned along with Secretary to the State Government (SSG), Malam Saidu Umar, and 11 other office holders.


The Special Adviser to the Governor on Media and Publicity, Muhammad Bello, Sokoto revealed this in a statement to the press.


Read the statement below…


Sokoto State Governor, Aminu Waziri Tambuwal has accepted the resignation of thirteen key portfolio holders in his administration, which include Hon. Manir Muhammad Dan Iya, the state deputy governor who was also the Overseer of the Ministry of Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs.


The remaining Commissioners are those hitherto manning Ministries of Finance, Environment, Youths and Sports, Lands and Housing; as well as Careers and Security: Hon. Abdussamad Dasuki, Hon. Sagir Bafarawa, Hon. Bashir Gorau, Hon. Aminu Bala Bodinga and Col. Garba Moyi (rtd) respectively.


Other Commissioners who resigned are those of Commerce, Works, Water Resources, Solid Minerals and Religious Affairs: Hon. Bashir Gidado, Hon. Salihu Maidaji, Hon. Shuaibu Gwanda Gobir, Hon. Abubakar Maikudi Ahmad and Hon. Abdullahi Maigwandu correspondingly.


More of the resignees include the Secretary to the State Government (SSG), Mallam Sa’idu Umar and the Chief of Staff, Mukhtar Umar Magori.