Connect with us


Buhari ignores Obasanjo, names railway stations after Tinubu, Awolowo



Buhari ignores Obasanjo, names railway stations after Tinubu, Awolowo

President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the naming of some railway stations along the Lagos-Ibadan corridor and others on the Itakpe-Ajaokuta/Aladja-Warri line after some prominent Nigerians including Obafemi Awolowo and Bola Ahmed Tinubu. Notably missing from the list is former president, Olusegun Obasanjo

Minister of Transportation, Chibuike Amaechi, disclosed this in a statement issued by his ministry’s Director of Press and Public Relations, Eric Ojiekwe.

The statement titled ‘Buhari names railway stations after prominent Nigerians’ described the beneficiaries as deserving.

“The deserving citizens have contributed to the progress and development of their respective communities and the nation at large,” the ministry said in the statement.

It stated that for the Lagos-Ibadan rail line with extension to the Lagos Port Complex at Apapa railway station, the beneficiaries included Bola Tinubu, Apapa Station; Mobolaji Johnson, Ebute Metta Station; Babatunde Fashola, Agege Station; Lateef Jakande, Agbado Station; and Prof. Yemi Osinbajo, Kajola Station.

Others include Funmilayo Ransom-Kuti, Papalanto Station; Prof. Wole Soyinka, Abeokuta Station; Segun Osoba, Olodo Station; Ladoka Akintola, Omio-Adio Station; Chief Obafemi Awolowo, Ibadan Station; and Chief Alex Ekwueme, Operation Control Centre.

For the Itakpe-Ajaokuta/Aladja-Warri railway, the beneficiaries and the stations assigned to their names include Adamu Attah, Itakpe Station; Dr Olusola Saraki, Ajaokuta Station; and Admiral Augustus Aikhomu, Itogbo Station.

Enjoy Complete Primary & Secondary Education Online CLICK HERE!

Download TopNaija App free | Join Us On Telegram | Promote Your Music

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *