Connect with us


8 Kebbi lawmakers defect from APC to PDP




Eight lawmakers in Kebbi State had defected from the ruling All Peoples Congress to the Peoples Democratic Party in Kebbi State.

The lawmakers comprised five members of the federal legislature and three members from the state legislature.

It was alleged that the mass exit from the party was as a result of procedures to which congresses in the state were conducted by the APC in where many members alleged that they were disenchanted.

In the federal legislature, the senator representing Kebbi Central Senatorial District, Adamu Aliero; Kebbi North Senatorial District, Yahaya Abdullahi; Senate leader, including a member of the House of Representatives, defected from the APC to PDP. Also, members representing Aliero/Jega/Gwandu and Dandi/Arewa federal constituencies, Mohammed Jega and Abdullahi Zumbo, exited the APC for PDP.

In the state assembly, Habibu Labbo, Ismaila Biu, and Mohammed Aliero, representing Gwandu, Arewa, and Aliero constituencies, also renounced their membership of the APC for the PDP.

State Organising Secretary of the PDP in Kebbi State, Usaini Raha, confirmed the defection of the lawmakers to the party.