Home NEWS Plateau Assembly Impeaches Speaker, Majority Leader

Plateau Assembly Impeaches Speaker, Majority Leader


The Speaker of the Plateau State House of Assembly, Rt. Hon. Peter Azi, representing Jos North West Constituency and the Majority Leader, Hon. Henry Yunkwap, member representing Shendam Constituency have today, Wednesday been impeached.

They were both impeached following vote of no confidence passed on them by members.

The members immediately elected Hon. Joshua Madaki representing Jos East Constituency and Hon. Daniel Nanlong representing Mikang Constituency to replace Hon. Peter Azi as Speaker and Hon. Henry Yunkwap as Majority Leader respectively.

The Impeachment motion was moved by Hon. Peter Gyendeng, member representing Barkin Ladi Constituency and was endorsed by over 2/3 majority of the APC dominated House.

DAILY POST reliably gathered that the impeachment process started on Monday, 9th July 2018 and was concluded the next day, Tuesday, 10th July 2018.

Subscribe to TN Daily!

Subscribe To TN | Advertise With Us | Send Us News Tips


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.